Royal Palms Resort and Spa – Phoenix’s Best Kept Secret

Royal Palms Resort

Recently, my husband and I celebrated our anniversary.  He was very sweet and took me to one of my favorite places – The Royal Palms Resort and Spa.  It is located at the base of Camelback Mountain, one of the prettiest areas in Phoenix.  I absolutely love this hotel! There are a lot of nice hotels in the Phoenix area which have fun pools and water slides and are great for a family weekend with the kids, but this destination hotel is more for a quiet, relaxing get-away which was just what we were wanting.

As you go through the gates, you are greeted by a brick driveway lined with palm trees. You feel as if you are entering something special, and you are.

The hotel dates back to 1929 and is a combination of Spanish Colonial, Mediterranean, and Southwestern architecture and decor. The first thing you see as  you walk through the entryway is a beautiful courtyard , common in the Spanish Colonial style.  In the middle of this inviting area is a fountain surrounded at its base by colorful tiles.

Royal Palms Resort

In fact, there are fountains of all shapes and sizes hidden in every nook and cranny throughout the grounds.

Royal Palms Resort

Royal Palms Resort

Royal Palms Resort

Everywhere you look there are arches,

Royal Palms Resort

wooden doors and shutters,

Royal Palms 30th Anniversary Weekend (25)autocorrectlightand colorcropped

Royal Palms Resort and Spa

metal fixtures,

Royal Palms Resort

and art.

Royal Palms Resort

Plants and flowers line the walkways that wind all over the property.

Royal Palms Resort

I am amazed at how green and lush the grounds look at this time of year.

Royal Palms Resort

Everything is dead in my yard right now due to the heat.  I need to talk to their gardener!

Royal Palms 30th Anniversary Weekend (24)cropped

There are lots of places to sit, relax, and enjoy your surroundings.

Royal Palms Resort

Royal Palms Resort

Royal Palms Resort

The buildings themselves make you feel like you have gone back in time, and have happened upon an old Spanish mission.

Royal Palms Resort

2007 06 21 jask at royal palms 016autocorrectsaturation

But don’t let that fool you.  They are known for their amenities including a spa with all different types of massages, facials, and body therapies which can be enjoyed indoors or out, depending on the time of year.

Royal Palms Resort

There is also a beautiful pool, not too big, and not too small with a choice of lounge chairs or your own shaded casita if the sun is too strong.  Food and drinks can be ordered to eat poolside from the friendly staff.

Royal Palms Resort

There are all different types of rooms available and the styles are in keeping with the feel of the resort.

Royal Palms Resort

I loved that they had a Keurig in our room, tucked away in an armoir.

Royal Palms Resort

And all the while, Camelback Mountain is standing strong in the background, adding to the atmosphere of the place.

Royal Palms Resort

There is even a nationally acclaimed restaurant (T. Cooks) on the property so you never have to leave the serenity of your stay unless you want to.  They are known for using seasonal and local ingredients in their creative dishes.  We told them about our anniversary so they put rose petals on our table, and gave us a yummy dessert that I am still dreaming about!

Royal Palms Resort

I have only just begun to show you all there is to offer at the Royal Palms.  I feel like the rude neighbor who keeps going on and on showing his vacation pictures as you fall asleep on the couch! I just really love this place and wanted to let you know about it.  I will stop there, but if you want to experience the most relaxing and beautiful weekend of your life or just find out more about the resort, click on the link below.

Royal Palms Resort and Spa

5200 E Camelback Rd.

Phoenix, AZ 85018

(602) 840-3610

Special thanks to my dad for letting me use some of his pictures from his stay with my mom for their 50th anniversary.

 

 

 

 

About Shari

My name is Shari, and I am an Arizona native and married mother of 3 who loves to cook and bake and figure out how to garden successfully in our suburban home in the desert. On this blog you will find a combination of savory and sweet recipes that have been tested by me, along with many tips to help you be successful. I hope you enjoy them! (cookazido.com)
This entry was posted in Hotel Reviews, Things to Do in Arizona and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Royal Palms Resort and Spa – Phoenix’s Best Kept Secret

  1. NancyC says:

    This looks like a beautiful resort! What a wonderful place to celebrate your anniversary!

    • Shari says:

      Yes, it was the perfect place for us. We have been so busy lately, it was nice just to relax. We had never tried the restaurant so that was a real treat, too.

  2. cheri says:

    Hi Shari, oh I love that place it is so beautiful, have not stayed there but had a lunch and a dinner that were both amazing. Happy Anniversary!!

    • Shari says:

      Thank you, Cheri! How wonderful that you have gotten to eat there. We hadn’t done that before so really enjoyed T. Cooks. We also liked our lunch by the pool. To me that is the ultimate in comfort!

  3. jchixson413 says:

    Thanks for the tip- Chris and I enjoyed our getaway in Tucson over Memorial Day weekend. It’s good to have other ideas in the Phoenix area! It also reminds me of our hotel from our Honeymoon in San Diego- the Rancho Bernardo Inn. I love the fountains! 🙂

    • Shari says:

      I’m glad you had a nice getaway before the baby comes, Jennifer! I loved the Rancho Bernardo Winery. If the Inn was like the winery it must have been beautiful. Thanks for your comment!

  4. Shari, first of all Happy Anniversary! I am in love with that resort/hotel/spa. It’s just beautiful. I want to go right now.

    • Shari says:

      Thanks so much, Suzanne! It really is just incredible. I hope you can go sometime! It made me want to go back, just writing the post, and I was just there! 🙂

  5. What a wonderful way to celebrate! I loved the bench with the green pillows! Happy Anniversary!

    • Shari says:

      Thank you very much, Julie! It was a great way to celebrate. I loved that bench, too. I even asked my husband to make me one when I saw it.

  6. Alok Singhal says:

    This is such a beautiful place, amazing pics. Happy belated Anniversary!

    • Shari says:

      I appreciate that, Alok! The beauty of it is surprising in the middle of the desert. I don’t know how they do it. Thanks for stopping by!

  7. I can see why you’d still be dreaming about that dessert.

    What a wonderful place. Everything about it is gorgeous. A couple of photos in your post made me think of a John Ford Western. I thought John Wayne was going to come around the corner.

    Oh – and Happy Belated Anniversary!

    • Shari says:

      Thank you, Ruth! That dessert – it was a homemade snickers bar. My husband is allergic to peanuts so I had to eat the whole thing by myself. So sad for him! How interesting about the place looking like a western movie. I hadn’t thought of that. I just love Spanish Colonial architecture so I’m sure that is why I like it so much. That and the greenery everywhere. Such a treat! Speaking of treats, what have you been cooking lately?

      • Finally mastered risotto & am feeling very proud of myself. Also experimenting with chicken marinades for the BBQ.

      • Shari says:

        All of that sounds very fun! I bought a book last year about how to cook risotto and still haven’t tried it yet. I have never even eaten it at a restaurant so want to do that before I attempt it so I know what it tastes like. Marinades are tricky! I would love to hear about your recipe if you come up with one you like. You sound just like me – always experimenting with food and trying to get good at different things. I am so happy when I’m doing that.

  8. Wow this looks so beautiful and wonderful place to celebrate your anniversary. ..happy anniversary….:)

  9. rozpaige says:

    What a wonderful anniversary gift from your sweet husband, Shari! I have never heard of this hotel, thus as you said, one of Phoenix’s best kept secret. Everything is so beautiful!!!! The water features, fountains, arches, shutters, pools, and manicured grounds! What an oasis in the desert! I would love to stay there someday!!! Thanks for sharing the ‘secret’!!!

    • Shari says:

      Oasis in the desert is the perfect way to describe it, Roz! It is really different than any other hotel around. It might not be that much of a treat for you though, as you live in such a beautiful place, it wouldn’t seem very unique. But the Spanish Colonial architecture would be different from the south. I hope I can visit your neck of the woods someday! Thanks for stopping by.

  10. Wow!! This is in the States!! I thought you were actually in the Mediterranean, maybe in Tuscany (it has an Italian feel as well). I love the Spanish Colonial architecture, and it definitely feels more vintage than the roaring 20’s. Nice!! My kind of place. 😀
    Happy Anniversary!

    • Shari says:

      Thanks so much, Nuwan! My kind of place, too. It isn’t very far from downtown Phoenix. Once you enter the gates, you feel as if you are in another world. I appreciate you stopping by and leaving a comment. Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

