Flavor of the Week – Mocha Cappuccino Cupcakes With Chocolate Ganache Filling

Mocha Cappuccino Cupcakes

I’ve been posting a lot of cupcake recipes lately.  The reason is because I made a goal of trying out a new flavor each week in order to find favorites for the cupcake business that I would like to start.  The flavor of this week was coffee.  I just can’t even tell you how much I liked this one.  It starts with a chocolate cupcake, then it is filled with chocolate ganache,  topped  with an espresso buttercream, and a chocolate covered coffee bean. It was just pure heaven.  That is if there is coffee in heaven.  I’m really hoping so – aren’t you?:)

By the way, the chocolate cupcake part of this is the best chocolate cake recipe I have found. It is so moist, and tastes a lot like a store-bought devil’s food cake mix.  This one is very simple but adds coffee to the batter, and I think that is why I like this one better.  The great thing is you don’t taste the coffee, but it gives it a much richer chocolate flavor.  So even if you don’t want to use coffee frosting, but need a chocolate cupcake recipe you can make from scratch with ingredients you already have, this is a great one.  I’m really hoping they also have cupcakes in heaven.  I would even be happy to help make them.

I have learned a lot this week in regards to starting a business.  It is really a complicated, expensive process! It is almost like you need to win the lottery in order to get the money you need to start a business to earn money.  Seems a little backwards to me.  But I am not completely discouraged yet.  If it is meant to be, it will happen.  In the meantime, I will keep testing more recipes so I will be ready when the time comes. And for my daughter and her friends, who are often my taste testers, that means a little bit of heaven on earth.

Mocha Cappuccino Cupcakes with Chocolate Ganache Filling

For the Cupcake:

  • 2 c all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • 2 tsp. baking soda
  • 3/4 c unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 2 c sugar
  • 1 c vegetable oil
  • 1 c hot coffee (you won’t be able to taste the coffee at all, just makes the chocolate more pronounced)
  • 1 c whole milk
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  1. Preheat oven to 325 degrees.
  2. In a large mixing bowl, sift together dry ingredients.
  3. Add oil, coffee, and milk and mix at medium speed for 2 minutes.
  4. Add eggs and vanilla and beat 2 more minutes.  Expect batter to be thin.
  5. Line cupcake pan with approximately 24 paper liners.
  6. Pour batter into liners, making sure each liner is about 2/3 full.
  7. Cook approximately 18 to 21 minutes, testing after 18 with a toothpick to see if done.  Important not to over bake.
  8. Cool cupcakes on wire rack.

Recipe from www.food.com

For the Ganache:

  • 8 ounces chocolate, chopped into small pieces
  • 1 c heavy cream
  1. Place chocolate pieces in a large bowl.
  2. Heat heavy cream on medium high until it just comes to a boil.  Remove from heat and immediately pour cream over chocolate.  Let sit for 5 minutes, and then stir until completely mixed and glossy.  Allow ganache to cool.
  3. Using a soup ladle, spoon a thin layer of ganache over cupcakes and smooth with a frosting spatula.  The longer you allow the ganache to cool, the thicker it will set.  I didn’t wait very long before pouring it over the cupcakes, but made sure the cupcakes were completely cooled also.  Store in the refrigerator, but leave out for an hour before serving or cupcakes will be hard like butter.

Ganache recipe a combination of recipes from Savory Sweet Life and Martha Stewart

For the Frosting:

  • 2 sticks butter, softened
  • 3 c powdered sugar
  • 2 Tbsp. instant espresso powder
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 2-6 Tbsp. cream
  • chocolate covered coffee beans (optional)
  1. In a small bowl, combine the espresso powder, vanilla, and 1 Tbsp. cream.  Stir together until powder has dissolved.
  2. Put the softened butter into a large bowl, and using an electric mixer, beat the butter until pale and creamy.
  3. Gradually add the powdered sugar and continue to beat until thick and paste-like.
  4. Add the espresso/vanilla mixture and continue to beat frosting well.
  5. Add a tsp. at a time of milk/cream until frosting is creamy and pipe-able.
  6. Frost cupcakes. (I used a large star tip in a piping bag to swirl frosting on top of cupcakes.) Top with a chocolate covered coffee bean, if desired.  Refrigerate cupcakes.  Take out of the refrigerator an hour before needed.

Frosting recipe from The Baker Chick

About Shari

My name is Shari, and I am an Arizona native and married mother of 3 who loves to cook and bake and figure out how to garden successfully in our suburban home in the desert. On this blog you will find a combination of savory and sweet recipes that have been tested by me, along with many tips to help you be successful. I hope you enjoy them! (cookazido.com)
This entry was posted in Cupcakes, Desserts, Party Recipes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Flavor of the Week – Mocha Cappuccino Cupcakes With Chocolate Ganache Filling

  1. Ginny says:

    Youre thinking of opening a small business? Exciting!

    • cookazido says:

      I would like to, Ginny. I am just now researching all of the rules and regulations. I had know idea how expensive it was to start and maintain a business. I just may have to charge $32 apiece for each cupcake. Do you think I’ll have many orders?:) I still have hope that it will work out. I’ll keep you posted!

  2. Best of luck!~ Looks like we’re on the same wavelength this week–rockin’ that mocha!

    • cookazido says:

      Thank you so much for stopping by and commenting. You’re right about the mocha – I can’t wait to make your brownies. I’ve been thinking about them ever since I saw your picture of them! I appreciate your good wishes. I’ll keep you posted.

  3. priya7011 says:

    Wow.. they look so inviting!!

  4. Mmmm! This sounds heavenly. Sadly, I read this post before eating breakfast, and now I’m craving mocha chocolate! Not a very healthy way to start the day…

    Fingers crossed for your new business. If you’re making cupcakes like these, I have no doubt you’ll be successful. 🙂

    • cookazido says:

      Thank you for crossing your fingers for me, Ruth! I appreciate it. Sorry I started your cravings so early in the day. You’ll have to start reading my posts at night!:)

  5. thehungrymum says:

    stunning cupcakes – they look perfect.

Leave a comment