Chocolate Covered Cherry Brownies

Chocolate Covered Cherry Brownies

If you like chocolate covered cherries, you are going to love these bars! They start with a layer of homemade brownies, topped with a maraschino cherry butter cream frosting, and that is covered with a rich chocolate.

Chocolate Covered Cherry Brownies

This dessert was for an installment of our son’s Christmas present (a dessert every month delivered to his door).  If you would like to know the reason why I chose this as his Christmas present this year, read (here).  I always put chocolate covered cherries in his stocking at Christmas as I know how much he likes them.  So when I saw this recipe, I knew that would be the next one I wanted to make.  It was very nice of him to move back to town so that I don’t have to mail his desserts anymore.  I’m sure that is why he moved back.  Or maybe it was to be closer to his mother.  Yes, that seems reasonable to me.  Well, whatever his reason, I am very happy he is living closer now, and we get to see him more often instead of just at holidays.

Chocolate Covered Cherry Brownies

These brownies are very easy to make.  With each layer, basically you are just throwing everything into a bowl and mixing the ingredients together.  The most time-consuming part is waiting for everything to cool so you can add the next layer.  With the addition of the cherries and the red juice in the frosting layer, these brownies would be perfect for Memorial Day coming up or any kind of patriotic holiday.  Actually they would be good for Valentine’s Day or a Christmas party for that matter.

Chocolate Covered Cherryl Brownies

These are just good brownies for holidays or parties in general.  In fact, I made a double batch, and am going to take these to Fiesta Friday over at Angie’s (The Novice Gardener Blog).  I always love taking dessert to a get together, and I think these will be perfect.  Make them soon and take them to a party or to someone you love.  They are pretty much guaranteed to make them love you back.  Another reason I like to bake for my son!:)

Chocolate Covered Cherry Brownies

  • Servings: 12-15
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

For the Brownie Base:

  • 1/2 c (1 stick) unsalted butter, diced
  • 3 oz. unsweetened chocolate, chopped
  • 1 1/2 c sugar
  • 3 large eggs
  • 1 tsp. pure vanilla extract
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 3/4 c all-purpose flour
  1. Preheat oven to 325 degrees.
  2. Spray 9×13-inch pan with nonstick spray.
  3. Stir butter and chocolate in large heavy saucepan over low heat until chocolate is melted. Watch carefully so it doesn’t burn.  Remove from heat and whisk in sugar, then eggs, one at a time.
  4. Whisk in vanilla and salt, and then sift flour over.  Stir to blend well.
  5. Transfer batter to prepared pan.
  6. Bake brownies until tester inserted into center comes out with some moist batter attached, about 18 minutes.
  7. Cool completely in pan on rack.

For the Cherry Buttercream:

  • 1 10-oz. jar maraschino cherries, drained, juice reserved
  • 1/2 c unsalted butter, at room temperature
  • 2 c powdered sugar
  • 1 Tbsp. heavy cream
  • 1 Tbsp. reserved maraschino cherry juice
  • 1 tsp. pure almond extract
  1. While the brownie layer is cooling, coarsely chop the cherries.  Place a paper towel on a dinner plate and spread the chopped cherries out on top of it.  Gently press another layer of paper towel on top of the cherries, soaking up excess juice.  Set aside.
  2. In the bowl of a stand mixer, beat the butter until smooth and creamy.
  3. Add powdered sugar, cream, cherry juice, and almond extract.  Beat on medium-high until fluffy, another 1 to 2 minutes.
  4. With a spatula, fold in the chopped cherries.
  5. Spread over the cooled brownies in an even layer, and then place pan in the refrigerator for 30 minutes.

For the Chocolate Glaze:

  • 4 (1 oz.) squares semi-sweet chocolate
  • 4 Tbsp. unsalted butter
  1. On the stove top over medium-low heat, or in the microwave, gently melt together the chocolate and butter.  Take care to not let it scorch, stirring constantly if using the stove.  If using the microwave heat first for 30 seconds, then at 10 second increments after that, stirring after each time in the microwave.
  2. Drizzle over the chilled cherry buttercream layer, and then quickly and gently spread the glaze to an even layer.  The glaze will be thin.
  3. Cover and cool until chocolate hardens.

Recipe from Cook AZ I Do, original recipe found on A Farmgirl’s Dabbles

 

 

 

About Shari

My name is Shari, and I am an Arizona native and married mother of 3 who loves to cook and bake and figure out how to garden successfully in our suburban home in the desert. On this blog you will find a combination of savory and sweet recipes that have been tested by me, along with many tips to help you be successful. I hope you enjoy them! (cookazido.com)
This entry was posted in 4th of July Recipes, Bars, Desserts, Memorial Day Recipes, Party Recipes, Recipes, Valentine's Day and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

59 Responses to Chocolate Covered Cherry Brownies

  1. cheri says:

    Hi Shari, Oh do these look wonderful, I’ve been so good about eating sweets this last week but today I really am craving something like this. Love chocolate covered cherries. Just saw fresh cherries at Costco 2 days ago.

    • Shari says:

      Thank you, Cheri! I know, I’ve been trying not to eat so many sweets lately, too. I only had 1 of these, but I need to get them out of my frig ASAP! I will have to check for cherries at our Costco. I didn’t realize it was fresh cherry season already. Thanks for the heads up! Have a great weekend!

  2. Pingback: Fiesta Friday #16 | The Novice Gardener

  3. Hi again Shari! Wow, I love this, what a great year long Christmas present!! And how wonderful that your son has come closer to home 🙂 these brownies look stunning, what a lucky boy x (ps I may to steal your present ideas…!) thank you for bringing these to the party x

    • Shari says:

      You are so welcome, Elaine! I was glad to bring them. And, I would be happy for you to steal the present idea. It has been a lot of fun for me, and I think him, too. Gives me an excuse to go visit him!:) Hope you have a great time at the party!

  4. Chocolate and cherries – a match made in heaven!

    • Shari says:

      Yes, I agree! They go perfectly together – although I pretty much think anything goes well with chocolate!:) Thanks for stopping by. I hope you have a great weekend!

  5. This looks so good! I also have a dessert post today: http://helloscarlettblog.com/2014/05/16/a-bloggers-dozen-mariahs-strawberry-tarts/. I’d love to hear your thoughts!


    Emory

    • Shari says:

      Thank you, Emory! I will check out your dessert post. I love desserts of all kinds so am happy to read about it. Thanks for stopping by!

  6. Loretta says:

    How beautiful, and I love the beautiful photographs – it makes you want to reach out and grab one 🙂

    • Shari says:

      Thank you, Loretta! That is so kind of you. It’s too bad it doesn’t work that way, being able to reach into the photograph and grab one I mean!:) Maybe better for my weight that it doesn’t, though! I appreciate you stopping by!

  7. I’m so lucky! 😀

  8. acasadisimi says:

    love this recipe! I do it for my kids! thanks for bringing her Fiesta Friday! greetings from Italy!
    Simi

    • Shari says:

      It’s so nice to meet you, Simi! Greetings to you from Arizona! I’m glad you like the chocolate covered cherry brownies I brought to Fiesta Friday. I bet your kids would love them. I just took them over to my son’s house, and he was very happy with them. I hope you enjoy the rest of your time at the fiesta. Thanks for saying hi!

  9. These look ever so decadent!

    • Shari says:

      Hi Dimple! It’s so nice to see you at the party. These are pretty decadent, but Lori is going to figure out how to make them healthy for us! I’m very glad about that. I hope you have a great weekend. Thanks for stopping by!

  10. Lori says:

    Chocolate covered cherries are one of my most favorite things ever! So these brownies look like one of the best things I have ever seen! Oh my!! If there is some way I can change this to a low-glycemic recipe that still tastes yummy, then I am going to do it! 😉

  11. Michelle says:

    I’m not a huge fan of cherries by themselves, but add chocolate to them and I am in heaven! I’m so glad you brought these to FF, I’m so looking forward to trying them!

    • Shari says:

      Hi Michelle, I like fresh cherries better than maraschino cherries, but my son likes the sweeter ones so I made them with the maraschino cherries. But pair anything with chocolate and frosting, and I’m in. It’s really nice to see you at the fiesta. Thanks for saying hi!

  12. apsara says:

    It looks so mouthwatering, with all the colors!

    • Shari says:

      Thank you, Apsara! I love the bright red colors, too. These were fun to photograph. I appreciate you stopping by to say hi. Have a great weekend!

  13. trucvert says:

    Oh, these look like heaven! Though I have a soft spot for anything containing chocolate and cherries. A big soft spot around my middle, in fact 😉

    • Shari says:

      Your comment made me smile, Louise. Funny thing, I too have that same big soft spot around my middle!:) A soft spot for all things dessert. Thanks so much for stopping by and bringing a smile to my day!

  14. Ayesha says:

    beauty! ❤ 🙂

    • Shari says:

      Thank you very much, Ayesha! I always love anything has such bright colors in it. They almost photograph themselves. It’s nice when they taste good and look pretty, too. I appreciate you stopping by!

  15. thebrookcook says:

    Beautiful presentation and photos!

    • Shari says:

      Thank you so much! Photographing my food is something that I always struggle with so I appreciate you saying that. For some reason desserts are much easier, though, especially with these bright colors. I appreciate you stopping by and hope you have a great weekend!

  16. Beautiful and decadent! Love them! Thanks for bringing them to the fiesta 🙂

    • Shari says:

      Thank you very much! They are a decadent, special occasion dessert. I am glad they are no longer in the house as I don’t think I could have resisted them. I hope you are enjoying the fiesta! Thanks for stopping by to say hi.

  17. Oooh these are real beauties. Yumm!!

    • Shari says:

      Thank you so much, Sadia! The bright red cherries adds a lot of festivity to these brownies as well as flavor. I appreciate you stopping by and commenting. Have a great weekend!

  18. Liz says:

    It was probably both, the closeness to mother and the tasty desserts as well. He probably gets to eat more dessert when he’s closer to you. The brownies look absolutely tasty. Thanks for sharing!!!

    • Shari says:

      Thank you so much for your sweet comment, Liz! It is always great to bake for someone who appreciates it. I’m so glad you stopped by. Have a great weekend!

      • Liz says:

        I agree with you. Cooking makes sense when there is someone to appreciate and eat the food. Have a wonderful week!

      • Shari says:

        You’re right, Liz! He is always very appreciative which makes him fun to cook for. I hope you are having a good week, too!

  19. Ngan R. says:

    Hi Shari! These look beauuutiful! I love your photos, especially that one of the brownies all stacked up. I don’t think I would wait for a holiday or a party to make these – they might just happen on a random night of the week when I start craving brownies and the flavor of cherries. I think it’s sweet you sent your son boxes of treats, but am glad for you that he is closer now!

    • Shari says:

      Thanks so much for your kind comment, Ngan! We are all glad he is back in the same city now. I think you are right about not waiting to make these – any day is a good day for brownies!:) I appreciate you stopping by!

  20. chefjulianna says:

    Oh wow! I have been elbowing my way to get to your plate and they are all gone! ;-( Do you have any more stashed somewhere?

    • Shari says:

      Oh no, I do have a few more in my car. I will go get them!:) I should have made more. I didn’t realize how many would be at the fiesta! It is so nice to meet you here, Julianna. I look forward to checking out your blog. Thanks for letting me know I needed to refill the plate!

  21. Hi Shari – I must say that I have really enjoyed reading this post and sighing over the brownies! What a wonderful present to give and receive; I must bear this in mind when my son leaves home…Lovely to meet you at Fiesta Friday 16 – I look forward to keeping up with you!

    • Shari says:

      Thank you, Selma! It is so nice to meet you, too. I appreciate Angie having us all over so we can meet new friends. I hope you have a great week!

  22. Jhuls says:

    Glad you make it to FF, Shari! These bars look so good. 🙂

    • Shari says:

      Thank you very much, Jhuls! I have really enjoyed Fiesta Friday and visiting with everyone. There are so many here, though, I’m sad I won’t be able to talk to everyone. There is always next time, though. Thanks for stopping by, and I hope you have a great week!

  23. Now, THESE look marvelous. Sadly, they’ve come at a bad time because I’ve been cleaning out closets and trying on old clothes and…eek! Some of them are a little tight…! However, I’m sure these brownies have zero to few calories – and they may, in fact, help me lose weight, right? (ha ha)

    I have bookmarked this page to refer to these later. Yum!

    • Shari says:

      If only they were magical brownies and would help with weight loss, Ruth!:) I totally understand about the tight clothes. My husband and I are trying to lose a few pounds right now due to a few too many cupcakes among other things this year. It was a very good thing I was making them for my son and got them out of the house right away. Thanks for your comment. I hope you have a great week!

  24. Shari–I am madly, truly, and deeply in love with these! (I hope you like and/or got the Savage Garden reference there…throwback Tuesdays?) My mom adores chocolate-covered strawberries and I really cannot wait to make these for her. It’s always so fun dropping by your blog to see these bright nibbles. Cheers!

    • Shari says:

      Thank you so much, Ala! I like the Savage Garden reference. It made me smile!:) I hope you get a chance to make them for your mom. I appreciate you stopping by, and hope you have a great weekend!

  25. Stephanie @ The Cozy Cook says:

    WOW your pictures are AMAZING and these look SOOOO good, I’m definitely going to have to try them!

    • Shari says:

      Thank you so much, Stephanie! I appreciate your kind comments. I hope you enjoy them if you do get a chance to try them. I appreciate you dropping by and commenting! Happy Memorial Day Weekend!

  26. Pingback: Friday Wallflavourites: Edition 5 | Wallflour Girl

  27. Gosh, Shari – these look SO professional! Emma 🙂

    • Shari says:

      Thank you so much, Emma. It is a good thing I only needed 3 for the picture, as they all didn’t look quite that professional!:) I really appreciate your kind comment.

  28. These look incredible honey x

Leave a comment