Melt in Your Mouth Cuban Sliders

Cuban SlidersI don’t know if I’ve ever mentioned before how recipes are chosen for making and reviewing for Cook AZ I Do.  It is a very random scientific and emotional mathematical process how recipes come to be presented on this blog.  So I thought today I would let you know how sporadically carefully and haphazardly logically they come about. Actually, now that I think about it, the formula for the way they are chosen is whatever I am craving that week too complex and complicated to explain here so you will just have to trust me that it is all a thoroughly researched and important process.  🙂 Seriously though, I really just make the foods I have seen and can’t get out of my mind or can’t stop thinking about.  It may seem silly, but it makes cooking fun, and I always look forward to getting into my kitchen to try a new recipe.  This one definitely falls into the category of not being able to stop thinking about it until I made it.  Although now I can’t get these sandwiches out of my mind because I want more.  They were so good!

Cuban Sliders

Basically they are a hot ham, swiss cheese, and dill pickle sandwich, but what makes them so yummy is the buttery Dijon sauce you pour over them before baking.  And, they are made with Hawaiian Rolls that have a hint of sweetness to them which adds to the combination of flavors.

Cuban Sliders

They are so simple to make.  First you slice the entire bag of rolls in half horizontally and place the bottom layer in a pan.

Cuban Sliders Then layer thin sliced ham over the bottom layer of bread.

Cuban Sliders

Next, layer swiss cheese on top of the ham and dill pickle slices on top of the cheese.

Cuban Sliders

Then place the top half of the rolls on top of the pickles.

Cuban Sliders

Lastly, pour the sauce over the rolls and cover with foil.

205 06 30 Cuban Sliders (61)autocorrectcropped

Bake in the oven for a short time, and you have melt in your mouth sandwiches, perfect for a quick lunch or a summer get-together.  If you are having a party and want to make them ahead of time, just put the sandwiches together, make the sauce, wrap both with plastic wrap, and keep in the refrigerator.  When you are ready to serve them, all you have to do is pour the sauce over the sandwiches, and bake.  Once baked, the onion flakes in the sauce become a little crispy and taste a little bit like french fried onion rings.

Cuban Sliders

Everything in these sandwiches works together to make this one of the best sliders I’ve had.  My husband took the leftovers to work today, and he said they heated up well and tasted just as good as when they were freshly baked.  The next time you get tired of the same old sandwiches for lunch or need a new idea for a casual summer get-together, give these a try.  Then you’ll see what I mean about not being able to get a recipe out of your head! 🙂

Cuban Sliders

  • Servings: 12
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

  • 12 pack of Hawaiian Rolls
  • 1 pound of thinly sliced ham lunch meat
  • 1 package of Swiss cheese slices (you will need 8 slices)
  • 1 jar of Clausen dill pickle sandwich slices (you will need 6 slices)
  • 2 Tbsp. dried minced onion
  • 1 stick of melted butter (1/2 cup)
  • 1 Tbsp. Dijon mustard
  1. Preheat oven to 325 degrees.
  2. Grease an 8×12-inch pan (9×13-inch would also work) with butter.
  3. Without separating them, slice the entire package of Hawaiian rolls horizontally in half.
  4. Place the bottom half in buttered pan, cut side up.
  5. Layer ham slices on top of the cut rolls.
  6. Place Swiss cheese slices on top of the ham.
  7. Cut each pickle slice in half.  Place one half pickle slice on each slider.
  8. Cover with Hawaiian roll tops.
  9. Make sauce by whisking together melted butter and Dijon mustard.  Add in the minced onion and stir.
  10. Spoon the sauce over the roll tops.
  11. Cover pan with foil.
  12.  Bake for 15 minutes.  Remove foil and continue to bake for an additional 5 to 10 minutes or until the rolls are just beginning to get a little brown on top.  Watch carefully at the end so they don’t burn.
  13. Remove the sliders to a cutting board with a spatula and cut into 12 pieces. Serve immediately.
  14. Refrigerate any leftovers.

Recipe from Cook AZ I Do, slightly adapted from a recipe found on House of Yumm

 

About Shari

My name is Shari, and I am an Arizona native and married mother of 3 who loves to cook and bake and figure out how to garden successfully in our suburban home in the desert. On this blog you will find a combination of savory and sweet recipes that have been tested by me, along with many tips to help you be successful. I hope you enjoy them! (cookazido.com)
This entry was posted in Cabin Recipes, Company, Lunch, Party Recipes, Recipes, Summer Recipes, Weeknight Meals and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Melt in Your Mouth Cuban Sliders

  1. These cuban sliders look amazingly delicious We go to one of our favorite restaurants for these sandwiches, and I’ve never made them at home. I’m saving this one!

    • Shari says:

      Thank you, Julie! I’ve never had a real Cuban sandwich, but always thought they sounded good. I hope you enjoy these as much as we did. I can’t wait to make them again!

  2. jessicahessler says:

    I wish there was a gluten free version of these Hawaiian rolls!

  3. nancyc says:

    Yum! I could go for some of these! 🙂

    • Shari says:

      Thanks, Nancy! I wish I could make them again and invite you for dinner. The bad part about blogging is being so far apart from everybody! 😦

  4. Jess says:

    These sliders look SOOOOOO delicious Shari 😀

    • Shari says:

      Thank you, Jess! We really enjoyed them a lot. I am going to make them again soon. They make a great simple supper in the summer!

  5. Liz says:

    The buns look very soft and the sliders, omg so delicious. You make me feel hungry even though I had dinner two hours ago!

  6. Oh my, these sliders look scrumptuous!!

    • Shari says:

      Thank you so much, Naina! We really enjoyed them. There are so many different types of occasions where these would come in handy. I appreciate you stopping by!

  7. cheri says:

    Hi Shari, my husband would go crazy for these, these look delicious!!!

    • Shari says:

      Thank you, Cheri! My husband really enjoyed these, too. They are so easy to make. I know I will be making them again and again. Thanks for stopping by!

  8. The dijon/butter sauce is brilliant. I never would have thought of it. Not only that, your photography has me practically drooling over my keyboard…

    I love sliders because I’ve convinced myself that small sandwiches don’t have any calories.

    • Shari says:

      I love your way of thinking, Ruth! No wonder I am drawn to sliders if they don’t have any calories. I know, that sauce is so clever, and you would think it would make them all mushy, but it doesn’t. Just extremely tasty. Thanks for stopping and sharing your calorie counting method! 🙂

  9. Teresa says:

    Oh, my gosh, Shari, I want one right now! These look fabulous

    • Shari says:

      Thank you so much, Teresa! I’m glad I could pass the recipe along. They were so delicious, I can’t wait to make them again. I appreciate your comment!

  10. rozpaige says:

    Sliders are just the best, especially with the amazing Hawaiian sweet roll buns! This is a really nice combination of flavors, Shari! I love how you described how you select your recipes and totally agree, that it all boils down to what you like the best and want to try the most! My problem is that the list is endless! LOL!

    • Shari says:

      I appreciate that, Roz! You are so right about the list being endless. I don’t think I will ever reach the bottom of all the recipes I want to try or things I want to get good at as far as cooking. But it keeps life interesting (and my husband, friends, and family happy). I hope you are doing well! Thanks so much for stopping by.

  11. Karen says:

    Is it okay to pour the butter Dijon mixture over the sliders and then bake them the following day?

    • Shari says:

      I am very sorry to be so late in responding. Somehow this comment got past me, and I just noticed it. I would wait to pour the Dijon mixture over the rolls until right before baking so they don’t get soggy. You could make it up and just keep it in the refrigerator and warm it up in the microwave (the Dijon sauce), then pour over the rolls when you are ready to bake. Again, so sorry for the delay! Thanks for your comment, Karen.

Leave a comment