What To Do In Arizona – Hike at Spur Cross Ranch

Spur Cross

It is so beautiful in Arizona right now.  The flowers are blooming, and the temperatures just don’t get much better than they have been the last couple of weeks.  It is looking forward to times like these, that gets us through the scorching summers.  We had a chance to enjoy all of what Arizona has to offer this last weekend as we hiked at Spur Cross Ranch Recreation Area near Cavecreek.  If you are looking for an easy hike with stunning views,  I highly recommend this one.

Spur Cross Ranch

One of the things that makes this a great hike are all of the saguaros that line the trails, and fill the desert as far as your eyes can see.

Spur Cross Ranch

Don’t these saguaros look like they are hugging?

Spur Cross Ranch

All I could think of when I saw this was “Oh what a tangled web we weave….”

Spur Cross Ranch

The end of March through April is the perfect time to go because of all the flowers blooming.

Spur Cross Ranch

There were so many different colors.

Spur Cross Ranch

There is a creek that runs along the trail at certain spots which makes the walk even more spectacular.

Spur Cross Ranch

Spur Cross Ranch

Several years ago we did this hike with our grade school age children, and got to see a gila monster before it disappeared in the brush.  It was very exciting.  We had never seen a real one before.

Spur Cross Ranch

You do have to be aware of your surroundings because of creatures like this, and the possibility of snakes as the weather warms up.  But, if I , who cry at the mere sight of a snake, can do this hike, anyone can.  The trail is very wide and it is easy to see what is ahead of you.  Except for this part.

Spur Cross Ranch

But it was short.  I ran across it with my eyes closed. I am very brave that way.   Also, I made my husband go first.  He said he would protect me if we saw any snakes. He is my hero.  Fortunately I made it through without any crying that day.

Spur Cross Ranch

We really had a great time hiking with our friends this weekend.  If you are looking for something fun to do in Arizona, whether you are visiting or live here, this would be a wonderful activity for your whole family.  The trails range from 1 to 5 miles, and are not difficult at all. It is about 40 minutes from downtown Phoenix.  The scenery is incredible, and best of all, there are all kinds of restaurants just minutes away in Carefree that you can go to on your way home.  It’s a great reward for braving the Arizona wilderness!

Spur Cross Ranch
44000 N. Spur
Cross Road
Cave Creek, AZ 8331
Phone: (480)
488-6601

About Shari

My name is Shari, and I am an Arizona native and married mother of 3 who loves to cook and bake and figure out how to garden successfully in our suburban home in the desert. On this blog you will find a combination of savory and sweet recipes that have been tested by me, along with many tips to help you be successful. I hope you enjoy them! (cookazido.com)
This entry was posted in Hikes in Arizona, Things to Do in Arizona and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to What To Do In Arizona – Hike at Spur Cross Ranch

  1. I cry and scream at the sight of snakes too — they terrify me. I love how different the landscape and plants are there. Such a lovely part of the world.

  2. Betsy Duzan says:

    Thank you for this taste of spring as I look outside at our 3rd day of snow and try to be thankful “because we need the moisture” as everyone here says…but 25 degrees in April makes me wish I were on that hike, snakes and all!

  3. natbiggs says:

    I’m taking a vaca there in 3 weeks! So excited! Great pics

    • cookazido says:

      That’s great! May is such a pretty time to come. I have a couple restaurant recommendations on my blog if you need them. I hope you have a wonderful time!

Leave a Reply

