Fancy Corn on the Cob

 

Chipotle Corn on the Cob

For my mom’s birthday we went to a great restaurant, and one of the best things we ate was something on the menu called “Street Corn”.  I have been craving it ever since, so decided to try to recreate it at home.  This recipe comes very close.  My daughter, who recommended the restaurant, and the corn to me, gave it a thumbs up.

The recipe combines sour cream and mayo with spices and chipotle chilies to give it some smokiness and a little kick.   I sprinkled feta cheese on top, which may seem weird, but because of its saltiness, was a perfect combination with the creaminess of the sauce.   Basically, it is the best corn I’ve ever had.  I know that sounds dramatic, but really, it was so good. If you like chipotle chilies, and don’t mind a little kick, where spice is concerned, try this corn.  It would be a fun addition to a bar-b-q to add a little change of pace from the normal corn on the cob.

Chipotle Corn on the Cob

It is hard to believe summer is almost over.  So many of the schools in our area have already started back.  In my mind, I hold out until after Labor Day to consider summer officially ended.  The funny thing is, the whole month of September is still so hot in Arizona, we spend it feeling sorry for ourselves.  Then October hits, and we are absolutely giddy.  Don ‘t tell anybody, but that is really the best time to bar-b-q here.  In the meantime, we still bar-b-q, but are usually so dehydrated by the time dinner is ready, we have to call the paramedics.  Not really.  It just feels that way.  If I am bar-b-q-ing this corn, though, it will be totally worth it.

Chipotle Corn on the Cob

 

Chipotle Corn on the Cob

  • Servings: 6-8
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

  • 1/2 c. mayonnaise
  • 1/2 c. sour cream
  • 4 cloves fresh garlic, minced
  • 1/2 tsp. smoked paprika
  • 1/2 tsp. onion powder
  • 1 Tbsp. chipotle chili sauce (from can of chipotle chilies in adobe sauce)
  • 1 container crumbled feta cheese
  • green onions, sliced
  • 1 bunch cilantro, chopped
  • 6 – 8 ears fresh corn on the cob, shucked and washed
  1. Mix mayonnaise, sour cream, and minced garlic together in a small bowl.
  2. Add smoked paprika, onion powder, and chipotle chili sauce.  Stir to combine.
  3. In the meantime, preheat grill.
  4. Bar-b-q corn at medium heat for approximately 18 minutes, turning every 3 minutes.  Every grill is different, though.  Use your judgment depending on how hot your grill is.  Or, boil corn for 5 minutes in water on top of the stove.  Remove from heat and drain.
  5. While corn is still hot, spread chipotle sauce on  corn cobs, using about 3 – 4 tablespoons per cob or whatever you desire.
  6. Sprinkle feta over sauce.
  7. Sprinkle onion and cilantro on top of feta.
  8. Serve immediately.
  9. Refrigerate any leftovers.

Recipe from Cook AZ I Do

About Shari

My name is Shari, and I am an Arizona native and married mother of 3 who loves to cook and bake and figure out how to garden successfully in our suburban home in the desert. On this blog you will find a combination of savory and sweet recipes that have been tested by me, along with many tips to help you be successful. I hope you enjoy them! (cookazido.com)
This entry was posted in 4th of July Recipes, Company, Party Recipes, Recipes, Side Dishes, Summer Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Fancy Corn on the Cob

  1. Lau says:

    Looks fantastic!

  2. Preveena says:

    The picture and recipe is making me hungry. Delicious looking!!!

    • cookazido says:

      Thank you, Preveena! I can’t wait to fix it again. I never would have thought of putting a creamy sauce on corn on the cob if we hadn’t eaten it at that restaurant. Thanks for your comment! I hope all is well with you.

  3. rozpaige says:

    Being an Iowa native, I love corn and every way to prepare and enjoy it! I also adore chipotle added to numerous recipes . . . I can’t wait to try this recipe! Bookmarked and pinned!

    • cookazido says:

      Roz, thank you so much for the pin and taking the time to comment. I am always attracted to anything chipotle as well. I hope you enjoy the recipe. Have a great weekend!

  4. MeganWareRD says:

    I JUST made a version of this last night, except cut mine off the cob and served in a bowl! Perfect use for the last of the summer corn. I used sriracha to spice it up, but adobo sauce sounds even better. I’ll try that next next time.

    • cookazido says:

      That sounds really good, too, Megan! I love sriracha. Let me know if you try the adobo sauce version. It adds a lot of fat to the corn, so I don’t think I would do it all the time, but it is great when you want something a little more special, maybe for company. Thanks so much for stopping by and leaving a comment.

Leave a comment