Homemade Chipotle Salsa

Chipotle Salsa

I have a recipe I am very excited to share with you today (actually I feel that way every time I share a recipe so what’s new?).  But this recipe involves Mexican food and salsa!  Salsa is a pretty big deal in our family.  We are very picky about our salsas.  That is one of the first ways we judge a new Mexican food restaurant around here – by how good their salsa is.  And since we have been eating Mexican food for around 50 plus years (I’m including my whole family here), we think we are really good judges!:)  Just ask any one of us.

This homemade salsa is one of the best I’ve eaten.  If you like the flavor of chipotle, which is a little bit smoky and spicy, you’ll love this one too.  I have another type of chipotle salsa(here) on this blog, but it contains tomatillos, and is a little bit more work because you have to roast the tomatillos first. But this recipe doesn’t contain tomatillos and is a breeze to put together.  You just throw everything into a blender and blend away.  Instant happiness!

Chipotle Salsa

Cinco de Mayo is coming up on Monday, and our family always looks forward to it.  We kind of feel like it is our right duty to celebrate it since we live in Arizona.  It is purely selfish sacrificial on our part and has everything nothing to do with the fact that we get to eat lots of Mexican food.  If you would like to celebrate Cinco de Mayo, and don’t live in the southwest, I’m sure we can figure out a reason for you to celebrate it, too.  Just the fact that you know a blogger who lives in Arizona sounds like a good enough reason to me!  Happy Cinco de Mayo everyone!

Chipotle Salsa

Chipotle Salsa

  • Servings: 2-3 cups of salsa
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

  • 1 can (14 oz.) fire roasted tomatoes
  • 1 c fresh cherry tomatoes
  • 1/2 c sweet or yellow onion, chopped
  • 3 cloves garlic, peeled
  • 1 whole jalapeno, seeds discarded and chopped into 1 inch pieces
  • 4 canned chipotle peppers in adobo sauce (seeds discarded), plus 2 tsp. of the adobo sauce (you can usually find canned chipotle peppers in the Mexican food aisle of the grocery store)
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 1 tsp. pepper
  • 1/2 bunch cilantro, thick stems removed
  • 1 Tbsp. fresh lime juice (approximately 1 lime)
  1. Combine all ingredients in a blender and puree.
  2. Transfer to a container and refrigerate until ready to use.  Lasts approximately 3 days.

Recipe from Cook AZ I Do, adapted only slightly from a recipe by Food Between Friends

 

 

About Shari

My name is Shari, and I am an Arizona native and married mother of 3 who loves to cook and bake and figure out how to garden successfully in our suburban home in the desert. On this blog you will find a combination of savory and sweet recipes that have been tested by me, along with many tips to help you be successful. I hope you enjoy them! (cookazido.com)
This entry was posted in Appetizers, Cinco de Mayo, Company, Low Fat, Mexican, Party Recipes, Recipes, Salsas and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Homemade Chipotle Salsa

  1. Jess says:

    As a lover of chipotle flavors This sounds soooo good! Great recipe 🙂

    • Shari says:

      Thank you, Jess. It is nice to meet a fellow chipotle lover!:) I think you will really like this one since you appreciate chipotle. It’s so easy, too. Thanks so much for stopping by and leaving a comment!

  2. This sounds really great Shari – and very versatile.
    I love salsas, so will be trying this one this weekend!
    Emma 🙂

    • Shari says:

      I am so glad you are going to try it, Emma! I hope you enjoy it. It’s hard to find recipes that are delicious and quick to make, but this one sure is. Thanks so much for your comment!

  3. cheri says:

    Hi Shari, love chipotle peppers for their smokiness and flavor, I bet this is a wonderful salsa! the color is perfect. Happy week-end to you!

  4. apsara says:

    Looks so colorful and spicy! Now I have to find a Mexican store to get those chipotle peppers…:)

    • Shari says:

      Thank you, Apsara! I love spicy salsas, but what I liked about this one was it wasn’t so spicy it made your mouth hurt. It definitely has a cumulative effect, though. I hope you can find the chipotle peppers. I bet you could even order them online from Walmart. Happy Cinco de Mayo!

  5. Ngan R. says:

    This salsa looks delicious, Shari. The salsa actually looks smoky and spicy! I favor very spicy salsa and would be tempted to throw in another jalapeno here. 🙂

    • Shari says:

      Thank you, Ngan! I am with you about adding another jalapeno. I really love spicy salsas, too. This one was just right for me, as it wasn’t painful to eat, but definitely had a kick to it. I hope you get a chance to make it sometime. Happy Cinco de Mayo!

  6. alifemoment says:

    This salsa looks really yummy!

  7. You had me at the phrase “instant happiness”.

    This looks absolutely marvelous! My stepfather is a big salsa fan and I think we should make this for him for Father’s Day.

    Happy Cinco de Mayo!

    • Shari says:

      Thanks so much, Ruth! It really was almost instant as it was very easy to make. If your stepfather likes the flavor of chipotle, I think he would enjoy this salsa. What have you been cooking lately? I know you are always making such yummy things. Happy Cinco de Mayo to you, too!

  8. foodessen says:

    I have been putting off ordering or driving to the next larger city to get peppers but now I might just have to do it! This sounds so delicious 🙂

    • Shari says:

      Hi Connie, I checked on Amazon and they do sell them. I use the La Costena brand. On the Walmart site, they were cheaper, but you have to buy them 12 cans at a time. I hope that helps!

      • foodessen says:

        Thanks Shari! I have found a couple of Mexican online shops here in Germany and I think they are my best bet as far as price goes. I also have two places I can go that are about an hour away from where we live. I just have to make myself go 🙂

  9. This recipe is a keeper for the upcoming summer entertaining! Love the combination of chili peppers:)

    • Shari says:

      Hi Peri! Thank you for your comment. I loved the combination, too. I hope you get to try it sometime. I appreciate you stopping by!

  10. Pingback: Friday Wallflavourites: Edition 3 | Wallflour Girl

  11. thebrookcook says:

    YUM!! Sounds super spicy!! Chipotles are one of my food loves so I will try this for sure 🙂

    • Shari says:

      It is spicy, but not painful if you know what I mean. Chipotle is one of my food loves, also! I hope you enjoy it if you get a chance to try it!

  12. Liz says:

    Home made is always the best. I love the photos and the presentation. The salsa looks so delicious!

    • Shari says:

      Thanks so much for all your nice comments, Liz! I agree with you about homemade being the best. This is my new favorite salsa. I hope you get to try it sometime if you like chipotle flavor. I appreciate you stopping by!

Leave a comment