Creamy Vanilla Cheesecake with Fresh Raspberry Sauce

Vanilla Cheesecake with Raspberry Sauce

This is a guest post of sorts.  I am writing the post, but my sister did the baking.  We went to Santa Barbara, CA for my nephew’s high school graduation this last weekend.  Afterwards, there was a party to celebrate this special occasion.  It included a variety of desserts, but one of them especially called my name – homemade cheesecake!  It looked so creamy and had a lovely sour cream layer on top.  I took one bite, and then sighed.  It was heavenly!  I had been looking for a good cheesecake recipe for a long time.  Really, it was one of the best pieces of cheesecake I have ever had.

So I decided it was imperative that I share the recipe with you and record it for me so that I can make it every week – just kidding.  Maybe.  I definitely want to eat it every week.  In fact, as I write, I am going into cheesecake withdrawal.  Because, thankfully, there was cheesecake left over from the party.  And I had to be sure it was really good if I was going to write a post about it.  So I sacrificed my waistline all in the name of good blogging all weekend.  It had nothing to do with the fact that it is one of the best things I’ve ever eaten, and it kept calling me from the refrigerator.  It really was one of the noisiest cheesecakes I’ve ever come across!

I asked my sister if there was anything special we needed to know in order for it to turn out.  She said all she did was follow the directions on the recipe and that it was not that hard.  I have always been a little nervous about making cheesecakes from scratch.  They seem kind of tricky.  But according to her, it isn’t as hard as you would think.  And the results are reminiscent of something from The Cheesecake Factory. With Father’s Day coming up, this would make a perfect dessert for dad.  It will tell your dad just how much you love him.  I told you it was a noisy cheesecake!

Lori, Bryce, and Jeff Ridenour

Special thanks to my sister, Lori Ridenour, who is an amazing sister and cook, for this delicious cheesecake recipe! It originally came from a cookbook called Steamboat Entertains that she purchased in Steamboat Springs, Colorado.  And congratulations, Bryce!

Creamy Vanilla Cheesecake with Fresh Raspberry Sauce

For the Crust:

  • 2 c graham cracker crumbs (she used Honey Grahams)
  • 2 Tbsp. powdered sugar
  • 2 Tbsp. butter, melted
  1. Preheat oven to 325 degrees.
  2. Blend all crust ingredients.
  3. Pat into bottom and up sides of 10 inch springform pan.
  4. Bake approximately 6 minutes until firm.

For the Filling:

  • 1 1/2 lbs. cream cheese or 3 (8 oz. pkgs.), softened
  • 1 c granulated sugar
  • 1 Tbsp. vanilla extract
  • 3 eggs
  1. With mixer, blend cream cheese, sugar, and vanilla.
  2. Add eggs, one at a time, and mix thoroughly after each addition.
  3. Pour mixture into pan and bake at 325 degrees approximately 45 minutes or until center is firm.  Turn off oven and open door.  Let cake sit for 15 minutes in oven.  Remove from oven, and turn oven to 375 degrees.

For the Topping:

  • 16 oz. sour cream
  • 2 Tbsp. granulated sugar
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  1. Mix all topping ingredients and spread evenly on top of filling.
  2. Place in oven for 5 to 6 minutes, just until top is set.  Remove from oven and chill thoroughly before removing from pan.
  3. If desired, drizzle raspberry sauce over each piece of cheesecake before serving, and top with fresh raspberries.  Refrigerate any leftovers.

For the Sauce:

  • 2 bags frozen raspberries
  • 1/4 c granulated sugar
  • 1 tsp. lemon juice
  • fresh raspberries for garnish, optional
  1. Blend frozen raspberries, sugar, and lemon juice in a blender until smooth.  Pour over individual slices of cheesecake, and top with fresh raspberries, if desired.  Refrigerate any leftover sauce.

 

 

 

 

About Shari

My name is Shari, and I am an Arizona native and married mother of 3 who loves to cook and bake and figure out how to garden successfully in our suburban home in the desert. On this blog you will find a combination of savory and sweet recipes that have been tested by me, along with many tips to help you be successful. I hope you enjoy them! (cookazido.com)
This entry was posted in Christmas, Company, Desserts, Father's Day Recipes, Mother's Day, Party Recipes, Recipes, Valentine's Day and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Creamy Vanilla Cheesecake with Fresh Raspberry Sauce

  1. acasadisimi says:

    can I have a slice? 🙂

  2. cheri says:

    Hi Shari, your sister and you look very much alike, so nice you are so close. Love cheesecake will have to give this a try. Thanks!

    • Shari says:

      It’s funny, as my sister and I get older, more and more people ask if we are twins. I don’t think we looked that much a like when we were younger. I am happy to resemble my sister, though!:) I am sad she is 8 hours away, but it could be worse so I shouldn’t complain. Thanks for stopping by, Cheri!

  3. Can you believe I’ve never made a cheesecake?! I guess it’s because I know a lot people who love to make and share it. (How lucky can one person be?)

    However, after reading your post and seeing how straight-forward it is, I think it’s my turn to treat everyone else. 🙂

    • Shari says:

      How nice to know a lot of people who make them! How did you manage that?:) I have made them before, but not often enough to feel comfortable. And I have never had one taste like the one my sister made. I am planning on trying it very soon. I don’t know, if I had so many friends that made them, I might just let them do it and not worry about it! Thanks for your comments, Ruth!

  4. Liz says:

    I would have sighed too and kept on going back for such a delicious looking cheese cake. You’ve left my mouth watering and now I’m eager to use up that lonely cream cheese sitting in the fridge. What pan size did you use for this one? Best wishes to your nephew!

    • Shari says:

      Thanks so much for the wishes and kind comment, Liz! My sister used a 10 inch spring-form pan. She said the original recipe calls for a 9 inch spring-form pan, but she just liked how the cheesecake looks with the 10 inch pan. It is wider and not as tall. Either would work though. I hope you love it!

  5. I personally tasted the same cheesecake, and let me tell you folks, IT IS GOOD. I didn’t even think I liked cheesecake before I tried this recipe. Happy baking everyone!

    • Shari says:

      Thank you so much for your comments, Jess! It was fun to see you pop up here. I didn’t know you liked the cheesecake. I will have to make one soon!

  6. Karen says:

    A big “thank you” to you and your sister for the recipe. My mother used to a a cheesecake with a sour cream frosting…this might have been the one she made. 🙂

    • Shari says:

      You are very welcome, Karen! I love it when food brings back memories. I hope you get a chance to try it. Thanks for stopping by and commenting!

  7. This cheesecake looks heavenly! Wish I had a slice right now!!

    • Shari says:

      Thank you so much, Jaclyn! I will pass that along to my sister. You have so many beautiful cheesecake recipes on your blog that I want to try as well. I really appreciate you taking the time to stop by and comment.

  8. rozpaige says:

    Can you share your sister with me on occasion? Mine doesn’t cook and it would be such a treat to have a sister who did! You guys look a lot alike! Love this cheesecake! Pinned and bookmarked, Shari!
    Stay cool,
    Roz

    • Shari says:

      I would be happy to share my sister with you, Roz. I know she wouldn’t mind, and we would all have a great time together!:) I loved this cheesecake, too, and would really like to have some more. I guess I will just have to make my own. I hope you enjoy it if you try it! Thanks for stopping by and for pinning as well!

  9. Pingback: And the Award Goes To… | Silver Screenings

    • Shari says:

      Thank you so much for the link, Ruth! Congratulations on all of your awards. That is so great and well deserved! I love how you turned it around and talked about the blogs who gave them to you. Such a nice thing to do! I plan on checking them out. I hope you have gotten to eat cheesecake every time you got an award! Way better than an Oscar I think! 🙂

Leave a comment