Perfect Pancakes

I am so relieved to post this recipe for these pancakes today.  You see, I have a completely irrational fear that I am going to lose this recipe.  And that would be terrible.  Because this is the best recipe for pancakes that I have ever tasted.  I used to think I didn’t like pancakes.  I had tried box mixes to make them, and I had tried to make them from scratch. They always tasted like cardboard to me.  Even with lots of butter and syrup, they were just boring.  And then my husband and I visited my Aunt Marlene and Uncle Don.  My aunt made us pancakes.  I still remember the moment in time when I took that first bite. It was like the heavens opened and angels began to sing!  It was a revelation.  I do like pancakes!   I just don’t like boring, tasteless pancakes that taste like cardboard.

Perfect Pancakes

I have made these so many times since then.  They are one of my favorite things to make at the cabin when we have a lot of people staying with us because it makes a lot of them, and it seems like people like them as much as I do.  I usually serve them with bacon or sausage and fresh fruit.  It’s really important to use real butter and real syrup with these.  That sends them completely over the top.  I melt the butter, too.  There is nothing worse than pancakes with butter on them that won’t melt because the pancakes have cooled off a little bit.  😦  I also warm the syrup.  It just makes for a better pancake experience and if you are going to go to the trouble of making pancakes, why not go all out?

Perfect Pancakes

I think the reason these pancakes turn out so well is because a of reaction between the buttermilk and the baking powder.  The recipe calls for you to not combine the wet ingredients with the dry ingredients until the last-minute.  When you do, the mixture seems to gurgle and bubble a little bit.  The result is a light, fluffy pancake with tiny air pockets through out.  It is also important to grease your griddle heavily with canola or vegetable oil.  First of all it helps them not stick, but in addition it helps them taste better.  Maybe because they get that slightly crispy outer edge and helps them brown better.  Just trust me.  It’s a good thing!  They are called Perfect Pancakes.  Not diet pancakes.  Save them for special occasions and all will be well.

Perfect Pancakes

I don’t know if I have ever told my aunt how much I love her pancake recipe and how grateful I am that she made them for us that day.  That is another reason for wanting to get this recipe on the blog, because I wanted to let her know how much I appreciate it.  We share a love of cooking, and in the past when she visited, we picked out some new recipes that we wanted to make together and then spent the day in the kitchen cooking and talking.  That is one of my favorite memories.  So thank you, Marlene, for being a wonderful aunt, and sharing your love of cooking and recipes with me.  And thanks for helping me to discover that I do like pancakes after all!

Marlene and Shari

Perfect Pancakes

  • Servings: about 12 medium sized pancakes
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

  • 3 c all purpose flour
  • 3 Tbsp. granulated sugar
  • 3 tsp. baking powder
  • 1 1/2 tsp. baking soda
  • 3/4 tsp. salt
  • 3 c real buttermilk (don’t substitute anything else)
  • 1/2 c milk
  • 3 eggs
  • 1/3 c butter, melted
  • extra butter for the top of pancakes
  • syrup
  • canola oil for the griddle
  1. In a large bowl, combine flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.  Whisk to mix.  Set aside.
  2. In a separate bowl, beat together buttermilk, milk, eggs, and melted butter.  Keep the two mixtures separate until you are ready to cook.
  3. Using a brush or paper towel, spread a good amount of canola oil over griddle.
  4. Heat griddle to 300 – 350 degrees or medium to medium high heat.
  5. Pour the wet mixture into the dry mixture, using a wooden spoon to blend.  Stir until it’s just blended together.  Do not over stir!
  6. Pour or scoop the batter onto the griddle using a 1/3 cup or 1/2 cup measuring cup, depending on how big you want them.  If they are too big, the middle won’t cook through.
  7. Brown on both sides.  I oiled the griddle between each set of pancakes.
  8.  Serve immediately with melted butter and warm syrup.
  9. Refrigerate or freeze any leftovers.

Recipe from Cook AZ I Do, given to me by my wonderful Aunt Marlene Christner, and originally found on allrecipes.com

 

About Shari

My name is Shari, and I am an Arizona native and married mother of 3 who loves to cook and bake and figure out how to garden successfully in our suburban home in the desert. On this blog you will find a combination of savory and sweet recipes that have been tested by me, along with many tips to help you be successful. I hope you enjoy them! (cookazido.com)
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Cabin Recipes, Company, Family Favorites, Recipes, Weekend Meals and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Perfect Pancakes

  1. NWChickie says:

    Stop the madness you’re making me drool! I can’t wait to try this recipe! I have an appreciation for butter and what it can do for a recipe. I also believe that pancakes are best when they have that slightly crispy edge. Thank you so much for sharing your story. It’s so lovely when a story can inspire another to try a new recipe. Can I ask what brand/grade syrup you use? I use Fred Meyer grade A medium amber syrup. But I read somewhere light color is best for pancakes if you’re going to use real syrup.

    • Shari says:

      Hi Nica, We share an appreciation for butter! 🙂 As far as the syrup, I usually buy mine at Trader Joe’s, but I think any natural syrup would be good. I just don’t like the fake syrup with the fake maple flavor. I’ve also gotten my syrup at Walmart and Costco. I had never heard that about the light color syrup for pancakes. I’ll have to do a taste test! Thanks so much for stopping by and leaving a comment. I really appreciate it.

  2. foodessen says:

    They do look perfect, I will definitely try them!

  3. nancyc says:

    These pancakes look so good! I love mine with melted butter, too–yum!

    • Shari says:

      Thank you, Nancy! It has been fun to see the looks on faces when I’ve served these with melted butter. Big smiles all around. I always appreciate you stopping by!

  4. I’m with you Shari! Say no to boring pancakes! I just love the relationship with your Aunt. I don’t often cook with anyone but when my sisters and I get together, we bring things to share and to oooh and ahhh over. It’s so much fun. Pinning!

    • Shari says:

      Thanks so much for pinning, Julie! It is fun when you get to be with people who appreciate food as much as you do. It sounds like a great time when you and your sisters get together. My sister loves to cook, too. She lives 8 hours away, but it is wonderful when we can be together.

      • My sister would kill me if I moved 8 hours away from her! I was thinking that I do have a niece that is a foodie and I really enjoy talking recipes with her.

      • Shari says:

        I know, I hate that she is so far, but I guess it could always be worse. She went away to college, got married, and stayed in the same city. It is a real treat when we get to be together.

  5. It’s a shame that here are so many mediocre pancakes in the world, because pancakes made with buttermilk and melted butter are DEE-VINE. I make pancakes at least once a month and include Saskatoon berries and use real Quebec maple syrup. However, I like your idea of heating up the syrup, which I never do. That would make everything ultra fabulous. Thanks for the tip!

    I could go for some pancakes right now!

  6. rozpaige says:

    I love great pancakes too, but have never found that one ‘super’ recipe to prepare them at home. This must be ‘the one’! What a great idea to melt the butter; I’ve never, ever thought about doing that, but it makes perfect sense. Warmed syrup is a must too. I’ve got to try these and thank you so much for sharing this cherished family recipe, Shari! Pinned!

    • Shari says:

      You’re so welcome, Roz! I’m happy to pass it along. I really hope you enjoy them as much as we do. There are so many recipes for different types of pancakes out there. These are classic pancakes, but I just love them. Thank you so much for pinning the recipe! I really appreciate it.

  7. cheri says:

    Hi Shari, such a wonderful post, your Aunt sounds like one great cook, so lucky you are to have her in your life. Pinning! Thank her for me…….

    • Shari says:

      Thank you, Cheri! I am very blessed to have her in my life. I just wish she lived closer. Hope you enjoy the pancakes when you get a chance to try them. I appreciate the pin!

  8. ConnieinDE says:

    Hi Shari, we had breakfast for dinner last night and these pancakes were great! This recipe is a keeper, looking forward to the next batch. 🙂

    • Shari says:

      Thank you very much, Connie! It is so nice of you to let me know you tried and liked them. That makes me very happy. Breakfast for dinner sounds like a great idea!

  9. This is true perfection on a plate- that stack is insane! 🙂

    • Shari says:

      Thank you, Josette! Turns out it is very difficult to photograph pancakes so I appreciate your kind comment. They may be hard to photograph, but are very easy to eat! 🙂 Thanks so much for stopping by.

Leave a comment