Soft, Frosted Eggnog Cookies

Eggnog Cookies

I always have great intentions of  making at least 7 or 8 different kinds of cookies, along with a couple of kinds of fudge, and some peppermint bark for Christmas every year.  I peruse through magazine after magazine after cookbook planning out all of the goodies we will find tucked away in tins on Christmas morning.  That is after I take at least a couple dozen of several varieties to our neighbors and friends.  We will sit around after opening presents that morning, smiling and laughing and talking with the kids while sipping hot chocolate with homemade marshmallows.  During that time the kids will relate to us that this was the best Christmas ever, and they are so very grateful for the gifts that they have always wanted and fit perfectly.  Hmmm.  I think I may have actually dreamed that scenario or maybe it was a Christmas movie I watched at some point.  Not exactly our reality.

What usually happens as far as the cookies go, is after I plan out all the different kinds I am going to somehow find the time to make this year, I make M&M cookies, peanut butter kiss cookies, and sugar cookies.  Then I run out of time and call it good, thankful that we at least have some dessert for the holidays.  The last few years our whole family has been frosting cookies on Christmas Eve, (actually not a bad way to spend the evening), and then the cookies are really fresh!  Well, not this year! I saw these egg nog cookies on Cooking Classy‘s blog, and have not been able to get them out of my mind. So I decided to forgo waiting until the last-minute to make cookies and make these now.  Thankfully, because they are just heavenly! They are every bit as wonderful as I had imagined them.

These cookies just melt in your mouth.  And they taste so much like egg nog, I wished I had some whipped cream to top them with.  Another nice thing about these cookies is that you can bake the cookies and freeze them, then thaw them out, and frost them when you need them.  I am still hoping to make our traditional favorites, in fact, I’m not sure Christmas is even allowed to come until we finish the cookie cutter sugar cookies, but at least there will be egg nog cookies.  Definitely a new tradition at our house!

Egg Nog Cookies

Egg Nog Cookies

For the Cookies:

  • 2 1/4 c flour
  • 2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 tsp. ground nutmeg, plus more for topping
  • 1/2 tsp. ground cinnamon
  • 3/4 c unsalted butter, at room temperature
  • 1/2 c granulated sugar
  • 1/2 c packed light-brown sugar
  • 2 large egg yolks
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tsp. rum extract
  • 1/2 c eggnog

For the Frosting:

  • 1/2 c butter, at room temperature (1/4 c salted and 1/4 c unsalted butter)
  • 3-5 Tbsp. eggnog
  • 1/2 tsp. rum extract
  • 3 c powdered sugar
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. In a mixing bowl, whisk together flour, baking powder, salt, nutmeg, and cinnamon for 30 seconds.  Set aside.
  3. In the bowl of an electric stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, whip together butter, granulated sugar, and brown sugar until pale and fluffy.
  4. Mix in egg yolks one at a time, blending just until combined after each addition.
  5. Mix in vanilla extract, rum extract, and egg nog.
  6. With mixer set on low-speed, slowly add in dry ingredients, and mix just until combined.
  7. Scoop dough out by the heaping tablespoonfuls and drop onto Silpat or parchment paper lined baking sheets, spacing cookies 2 inches apart.
  8. Bake in preheated oven 7-12 minutes, until just set.  Watch carefully after 6 minutes and don’t overbake.
  9. Allow to rest on baking sheet several minutes before transferring to a wire rack to cool.
  10. While cookies are cooling, in the bowl of an electric stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, whip butter until very pale and fluffy.
  11. Add in rum extract and 3 Tbsp. eggnog and mix in powdered sugar.  Add additional eggnog to reach desired consistency.
  12. When the cookies are cool, spread frosting on them, and then sprinkle lightly with nutmeg.
  13. Makes approximately 2 dozen.

So thankful to Cooking Classy for this wonderful recipe!

About Shari

My name is Shari, and I am an Arizona native and married mother of 3 who loves to cook and bake and figure out how to garden successfully in our suburban home in the desert. On this blog you will find a combination of savory and sweet recipes that have been tested by me, along with many tips to help you be successful. I hope you enjoy them! (cookazido.com)
This entry was posted in Christmas, Cookies, Desserts, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Soft, Frosted Eggnog Cookies

  1. Pingback: Soft, Frosted Eggnog Cookies | homethoughtsfromabroad626

  2. Okay, if you ever start a cookie mailing list, I demand to put at the top.

    I’ve never heard of these cookies before, but I bet they are little bits of heaven. And with nutmeg sprinkled on top, too? That’s almost too much goodness.

    • cookazido says:

      If I ever start a cookie mailing list, you will be my first customer, Ruth!:) They really were one of the best cookies I’ve ever had. I put some in the freezer for Christmas, and it has been so hard not to want to take them out and eat them. So far they are still there though. One more day… Thanks for stopping by!

  3. bakeaffairs says:

    That sounds and looks divine!

  4. These look delicious! Eggnog is a staple in our household this time of the year. Absolutely YUM!

    • cookazido says:

      Thank you, Anne! I rarely drink eggnog so I don’t know why I like these cookies so much, but I do. If you like eggnog, I’m sure you would love them, too. I appreciate you taking the time to comment!

Leave a Reply

