Salmon Patties

Salmon Patties

I am always looking for new ways to fix salmon.  Most of the time Jeff eats whatever I fix without complaining, but anytime dinner involves fish, I can just tell he isn’t too excited about it.  We both want to be healthy, though, so I continue to look for better ways to incorporate fish into our diet that makes it more palatable for us.  Jeff had asked me to try making salmon patties as he remembered liking them as a kid.  These salmon patties were perfect for both of us.  They were so flavorful, moist, and didn’t taste fishy at all.  And, it was a great summer meal because you saute the patties in a skillet and don’t have to use your oven.

One of the things I like most about this dish is that it is also full of vegetables.  It gives the patties great texture and flavor not to mention even more healthy ingredients for your body.  They are sauteed in oil, but using olive oil made me feel a little better about that.  So overall, I made these in order to make us more healthy, but I would make them again, just because we both liked them so much.  That makes for a doubly great recipe, and one that I know I will be making over and over again.

Salmon Patties

There is quite a bit of chopping involved and a cooling period for the patties before frying them so just make sure you start early enough.  You could even chop the vegetables and bake the salmon earlier in the day, and finish the dish right before dinner.  I tried making up the patties the day before, and then sauteing them the next day, and they came out great.  However you do it, I highly recommend this recipe for getting omega-3’s into your diet and keeping your family happy!

Salmon Patties

Salmon Patties

  • Servings: 10
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

  • 1/2 lb. fresh salmon
  • olive oil
  • salt and pepper
  • 4 Tbsp. unsalted butter
  • 3/4 c small-diced red onion
  • 1 1/2 c small-diced celery
  • 1/2 c small-diced red bell pepper
  • 1/2 c small-diced yellow bell pepper
  • 1/4 c minced fresh flat-leaf parsley
  • 1 Tbsp. capers, drained
  • 1/4 tsp. hot sauce (recommended:  Tabasco)
  • 1/2 tsp. Worcestershire sauce
  • 1 1/2 tsp. crab boil seasoning (recommended:  Old Bay)
  • 3 slices stale bread, crusts removed or 1 c seasoned bread crumbs
  • 1/2 c good mayonnaise
  • 2 tsp. Dijon mustard
  • 2 extra-large eggs, lightly beaten
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Place the salmon on a sheet pan, skin side down.  Brush with olive oil and sprinkle with salt and pepper.  Roast for 15 to 20 minutes, until just cooked.  Remove from the oven and cover tightly with aluminum foil.  Allow to rest for 10 minutes and refrigerate until cold.
  3. Meanwhile, place 2 Tbsp. of the butter, 2 Tbsp. olive oil, the onion, celery, red and yellow bell peppers, capers, hot sauce, Worcestershire sauce, crab boil seasoning, 1/2 tsp. salt, and 1/2 tsp. pepper in a large saute pan over medium-low heat.  Cook until vegetables are soft, approximately 15 to 20 minutes.  Turn off heat.   Add parsley and stir into the vegetables.  Cool to room temperature.
  4. Break the bread slices in pieces and process the bread in a food processor fitted with a steel blade or measure out store-bought bread crumbs.
  5. You should end up with 1 c bread crumbs either way.  Place the bread crumbs on a sheet pan and toast in the oven for a few minutes until lightly browned, tossing occasionally.  Watch carefully as they burn quickly.
  6. Flake the chilled salmon into a large bowl.  Add the toasted bread crumbs, mayonnaise, mustard, and eggs.
  7. Add the vegetable mixture and mix well.
  8. Cover and chill in the refrigerator for 30 minutes.  Shape into 10 (2 1/2 to 3 ounce patties) approximately 3/4 inches thick.
  9. Heat 2 Tbsp. butter and 2 Tbsp. olive oil on medium low heat.  In batches, add salmon patties, and fry 2 1/2 to 4 minutes per side until browned.  Drain on paper towels, and keep warm in 250 degree oven until ready to serve.  Refrigerate any leftovers.

Recipe slightly adapted by Cook AZ I Do, originally from Ina Garten at Food Network.com

 

 

 

About Shari

My name is Shari, and I am an Arizona native and married mother of 3 who loves to cook and bake and figure out how to garden successfully in our suburban home in the desert. On this blog you will find a combination of savory and sweet recipes that have been tested by me, along with many tips to help you be successful. I hope you enjoy them! (cookazido.com)
This entry was posted in Fish Recipes, Main Dish, Recipes, Summer Recipes, Weeknight Meals and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Salmon Patties

  1. Lori says:

    These look tasty!

  2. Ema Jones says:

    I love seafood :), your recipe looks great!
    Try Grilled Cod with Garlic and Chillies..
    http://bit.ly/1iM6z5U

    • Shari says:

      Hi Ema, Thank you for your nice comment. I checked out your grilled cod and it looks wonderful. I will have to give it a try. I appreciate you stopping by!

  3. cheri says:

    Hi Shari, salmon is one of my favorite meals, never had made them into patties before. Really like this recipe because of the ingredients you used. Pinned!

    • Shari says:

      Thank you so much for the pin, Cheri! If you like salmon a lot, I think you would enjoy these. They are a little time consuming, but totally worth it. I
      appreciate you stopping by!

  4. cheri says:

    Hi Shari,

    There’s a very fun, inspirational series circulating called the Bloggers Writing Process Tour, and I’d like very much to nominate you. Each person nominated then answers 4 questions around how you approach writing a blog post for your readers. Then you nominate 3 more bloggers you enjoy reading.

    So basically what happens is:

    1. I feature you on my blog when I do my post on writing, and will acknowledge the person who nominated me.
    2. When you do your post, you answer 4 questions: a) What am I working on? b) How does my work differ from others of its genre? c) Why do I write what I do? d) How does my writing process work?
    3. Nominate 3 other bloggers with a link to their site.

    No recipe required, no photography, just 4 questions. So, it’s pretty easy. I hope you are interested – I enjoy reading your blog, especially how your posts center around family and holidays.
    Here’s a couple of examples.

    http://www.forkandforage.com/writing-process-blog-tour/

    Writing Process Blog Tour

    http://thewimpyvegetarian.com/2014/07/the-writing-process-blog-tour-continues/

    I would let you know when I get mine done – I’m will be posting mine this week-end. So for you, that would mean a few weeks after that.

    Please let me know what you think? you can contact me at cheri@mysavoryspoon.com.

    • Shari says:

      Thank you so much, Cheri! I feel very honored. I sent you an e-mail about it, but couldn’t tell if it went through. Did you receive it? If you didn’t, let me know, and I will try again. I really appreciate you thinking of me!

  5. These look really good – a great way with salmon!

    • Shari says:

      Thank you so much! I enjoyed making this recipe, and the fact that my family liked them made it all the better. I appreciate you stopping by and commenting!

  6. I really like this print-friendly version for your recipes. Many times I’ve printed them off by copying & pasting into Word, then re-formatting, etc. It’s a pain – you know how it is. (I hope this “print” feature is new, and isn’t 2 years old and here’s me not noticing…!)

    As for the salmon patties, I will give these a go. I dislike fish intensely – I can eat tuna salad sandwiches, but can’t really handle anything else. However, if these don’t taste fishy, I will certainly give ’em a go. I know a certain husband of mine will probably love these.

    • Shari says:

      Hi Ruth, I’m glad you like the print-friendly version. I hated how it was before, but didn’t know how to fix it. Then I ran across a blog that mentioned what to do to make it print-friendly. I’m so thankful to Angie at The Novice Gardener for posting it. Not being a techie (not even sure how to spell it!), the ins and outs of blogging can sometimes be a challenge. I really understand your aversion to fish, as I used to feel that way, and am still working at liking it. I still can’t stand tuna!:) I think whether you would like these or not depends on how fresh the salmon is and where you buy it. The fresher, the less fishy taste. It sounds like you and your husband have opposite tastes. My husband and I are the same way. Keeps life interesting, doesn’t it? I hope you’re having a good summer. I bet it is beautiful right now where you live!

      • Ha ha! Yes my husband and I are opposites in many ways and it does keep life interesting. (He often teases me about our HD TV being a waste of money because all I ever watch are black & white movies!) As for our summer, it’s been a real treat. The wildflowers are in full bloom and soon the wild strawberries will be ripe. They are very tiny but you wouldn’t believe how flavourful they are.

      • Shari says:

        I’m so glad your summer is going well. The wildflowers and strawberries sound heavenly!

  7. Liz says:

    There are some things I eat not because I love the taste but just because I want to be healthy too. If we have that as the main focus or goal, then our eating habits would change tremendously. I love chopping and I love veggies so I would thoroughly enjoy these patties of yours. Thanks for giving me fresh ideas!

    • Shari says:

      You are so welcome, Liz! I love veggies, too. I completely agree with you about eating for health sometimes, along with eating for taste other times. I hope you enjoy them if you try the salmon patties. Thanks for stopping by!

  8. rozpaige says:

    Salmon is my favorite fish and not only am I always on the look out for great recipes, as you do too Shari, but also I am always looking for salmon patties or cakes since I can’t eat crab cakes due to my allergy to shellfish. I always feel left out and now I know that with Jeff’s and your endorsement, I’ve got a winning salmon patty recipe! Thank you!
    Roz

    • Shari says:

      You are so welcome, Roz! That must be a bummer to be allergic to shellfish. I noticed that Ina Garten’s crab cake recipe is basically the same recipe as her salmon cakes so I think this would be a good substitution. I hope you enjoy them if you get a chance to try them. Thanks for stopping by!

  9. Marcella Rousseau says:

    They look good. Would you come to my house and fix them? I got salmon thawing out in the fridge and I’ve run out of ideas to make it.

    • Shari says:

      Thank you, Marcella. I would love to fix them for you!:) These patties are so flavorful. It is a lot of chopping, but worth the time it takes to make them. It makes a lot, but they freeze well so you could make a batch, and then not have to make them for a long time. I think I’ve just talked myself into making them again! Great to meet you, and I appreciate you stopping by to comment!

Leave a comment